Be at least 15 ½ years of age, but under 18 years of age
Completed driver education online or classroom
Or Enrolled & Participating in any integrated driver education/driver training
program.Completed Driver’s License application (DL 44). Signed by parent/guardian.
Pass a Traffic law and road signs test.
The Provisional Permit is not valid until you start the behind the wheel driver training with an instructor or reach age 17 ½.
NOTE: If you are at least 17 ½ years of age you may obtain a permit without a driver education OR driver training. However, you cannot get a license before you are 18 years old OR you must provide proof of driver education and driver training completion.
MINORS PERMIT RESTRICTIONS
Your permit is NOT valid until you begin driver training.
Your instructor will sign the permit to validate it.
You must practice with a licensed California driver, parents, guardian, driving instructor, spouse OR an adult 25 years of age or older.
MINORS LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
Be at least 16 years old.
Proof that you have finished both driver education & driver training.
Have had a California instruction permit for at least 6 months.
Provide on your instruction permit that you have completed 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours MUST be night driving).